### **Children's Services Scrutiny Committee**

Meeting to be held on Wednesday, 3 July 2019

Electoral Division affected: (All Divisions);

Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference (Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information:

Samantha Parker, Tel: 01772538221, Legal and Democratic Services,

sam.parker@lancashire.gov.uk

## **Executive Summary**

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference of the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2019/20.

#### Recommendation

The Children's Services Scrutiny Committee is asked to note:

- The appointment of County Councillors Andrea Kay and Nikki Hennessy as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2019/20 municipal year; and
- ii. The new membership of the Committee following the county council's Annual Meeting on 23 May 2019; and
- iii. The terms of reference of the Committee.

### **Background and Advice**

The Full Council, at its meeting on 23 May 2019, agreed that the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 12 County Councillors (on the basis of 7 Conservative, 4 Labour and 1 Independent) and 5 non-voting co-opted members.

The membership of the Committee, as confirmed by the Political Group Secretaries and the Children's Partnership Boards is as follows:

### County Councillors (12):

M Barron
L Beavers
I Brown
A Cheetham
J Cooney
P Greenall

N Hennessy
A Kay
J Mein
D Smith
P Steen
M Tomlinson



Non-Voting Co-Opted Members (5)

Children's Partnership Board – Hyndburn, Ribble Valley, Rossendale – Cllr Stella Brunskill

Children's Partnership Board – Burnley, Pendle – Cllr John Harbour

Children's Partnership Board – Fylde, Wyre, Lancashire North – TBC\*

Children's Partnership Board - Chorley, South Ribble, West Lancs - Cllr Zara Khan

Children's Partnership Board – Preston – TBC\*

(\*indicates that at the time the agenda was published, a nominee was yet to be confirmed by the Children's Partnership Board - Fylde, Wyre, Lancashire North and the Children's Partnership Board, Preston)

In addition, the Committee will continue to include a representative nominated by the Youth Council with full voting rights.

The Full Council also appointed County Councillors Andrea Kay and Nikki Hennessy as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2019/20 municipal year.

The terms of reference for the Committee are attached at Appendix 'A'.

Cal	nsu	ltati	ion	9
CU	เเอน	ııaı	UII	3

NA

### Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

### **Risk management**

There are no risk management implications associated with this report.

# Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Te
•		

NA

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

NA